• Image of BARNEY WILEN - MOSHI 2LP + DVD (FFL015)
  • Image of BARNEY WILEN - MOSHI 2LP + DVD (FFL015)
  • Image of BARNEY WILEN - MOSHI 2LP + DVD (FFL015)
  • Image of BARNEY WILEN - MOSHI 2LP + DVD (FFL015)

In 1970 Barney Wilen assembled a team of filmmakers, technicians and musicians to travel to Africa for the purpose of recording the music of the native pygmy tribes. Upon returning to Paris two years later, he created Moshi, a dark, eccentric effort fusing avantjazz sensibilities with African rhythms, ambient sound effects and melodies rooted in American blues traditions. Cut with French and African players including guitarist Pierre Chaze, pianist Michel Graillier and percussionist Didier Leon, this is music with few precedents or followers, spanning from extraterrestrial dissonance to earthbound, streetlegal funk. Wilen
pays little heed to conventional structure, assembling tracks like
"Afrika Freak Out" and "Zombizar" from spare parts of indeterminate origins. (Jason Ankeny, AMG).

Deluxe reissue with additional artwork & high definition remastered audio.

20-page booklet on 200gsm art matt paper including rare pictures, sheet music & original liner notes.

Bonus dvd of Caroline de Bendern’s movie « à l’intention de Mlle Issoufou à Bilma » documenting this incredible african journey.

A1 : Moshi
A2 : Giulde’s Song To Binkirri
B1 : Gardenia Devil
B2 : 14 Temps
B3 : Bamako Koulikaro
B4 : Afrika Freak Out

C1 : Zombizar
C2 : El Hadji
C3 : Chechaoun
D1 : Tindi Abalessa
D2 : El Hadji
D3 : Balandji In Bobo
D4 : Sannu Ne Gheniyo
D5 : El Hadji

• 33 rpm •
©2021 SouffleContinu Records
Licenced by Saravah
originally released in 1972
by Saravah Records
If you want registered shipping,
please contact us at:
[email protected]
We can’t guarantee delivery or refund without registered shipping. Sorry about that.